Could you clench those cheeks together? // A(n unusual) letter to my old dog

Dear Tasha, could you clench those cheeks together? // A(n unusual) letter to my old dog // Blog post and illustration by Asti @ bit.ly/atypicalnarrative

Note: This post was originally published on my previous personal blog, Oh, Asti, on March 8, 2016. As that blog is no longer public and I (very sadly) had to say goodbye to my furry princess this past week, I decided I wanted to share it once again.

To me, it is fitting. Not only does it show that I’ve had my worries about Tasha’s health for a while, but it also highlights the fun, loving nature of our relationship (even if at times it involved some pleas for clean air). Being Tasha’s mom hasn’t been without its struggles over the years, but it was always worth and I wouldn’t change a thing.

Thursday’s post will be another dedicated to my dearly departed friend and then the blog should be back to its regular fun-filled content the following week. I thank you for your patience and understanding during this time. And for all you fur mommies out there – give your pet some extra loving from me today (even if it’s a cat, though I won’t like it as much). đź–¤

Dear Tasha

Tasha and Asti // Dear Tasha, could you clench those cheeks together? // A(n unusual) letter to my old dog // Blog post and photograph by Asti @ bit.ly/atypicalnarrative

I’m not going to lie, when I originally planned to write this post it was to tell you how much I love you. You’ve been giving me a couple of heart attacks lately – such as the time you were in such a deep sleep I couldn’t tell if you were breathing anymore and shaking you got absolutely no reaction – and I’m just realizing more and more that maybe my time with you isn’t as infinite as I thought.

But dang, girl. As much as I wanted to write you a love letter today, you had to go and ruin it all with your gas.

What the heck did you even eat? We haven’t been giving you anything other than your normal dog food, and yet you’re dropping lethal stink bombs as if you have some sort of personal vendetta against clean air.

And seriously, do you realize how rude it is to stink up a room and not own up to it? And to do it over and over again? I mean, usually I find it sort of sweet that you want to follow me around from room to room, but today? It’s like a death sentence. At this point I’m almost worried I’m going to die before you do, and it’s your toxic ass that’s going to be the cause.

At least this explains why you were making that derpy face when I tried taking some photos of you earlier today. Maybe you were letting one loose right when I took the pic. Or maybe you were even high on your own farty fumes. (Wait, is that possible? If so, it must be the reason I’m even writing this post right now…)

Derpy, gassy Tasha // Dear Tasha, could you clench those cheeks together? // A(n unusual) letter to my old dog // Blog post and photograph by Asti @ bit.ly/atypicalnarrative

But hey, let’s look at the bright side. If I didn’t love you as much as I do, I would refuse to let you to sleep in my room tonight. I would shut my door with you on the other side and make you suffer through your stink in solitude. Instead you’re right here next to me, on the floor next to my bed, and I’m going to let you stay here all night. You’re welcome.

(Though really, if you think you could just clench those cheeks together instead of letting one loose every five minutes, it would be greatly appreciated. Just saying.)

Lots of love,

Asti signature

Want more of my madness? Don’t forget you can follow me elsewhere:
Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Youtube | Pinterest | Newsletter
Or, if you’re interested in another Tasha-related post:
Is my dog a bitch or is she just deaf?

 

 

SaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSave

4 Comments

  1. Oh, Tasha. Odes will be written about your farts. I just know this, based on what I have read here. As enriching as it is to have fur babies, it is also the biggest heartbreak to lose these little babies. It’s never “time” for them to go. The beauty of this relationship, though, is that Tasha lives on in memories. I’m glad I read about her because she makes me laugh and smile real big. If only we all could fart like Tasha and make derpy faces. Wouldn’t life be golden then?
    I think so.
    *Hugs Asti*

  2. I remember this post! I’m glad you’re sharing memories of Tasha. I hope you’re hanging in there. ❤

  3. In memories, dogs are the most faithful companions we have aside from other human beings…but I am glad you’re staying strong despite the loss. Hugs I too will eventually face what you will and it’s difficult for me to fathom the idea of losing my beloved and sweet girl Marley. You are strong!

Leave a Reply

