It’s my birthday and I’m going in the closet.

It's my birthday and I'm going in the closet. // Blog post and illustration by Asti @ atypicalnarrative

That’s right. It’s my birthday. As of today I am twenty-eight (eek!) and, since it’s my big day, I finally get to go in the closet.

Now, let me clarify here. I am not using the phrase ‘going in the closet’ as some kind of metaphor for revealing (or hiding) my sexual or gender identity. No, I am talking about literally going into a closet. Why? Because that’s where my birthday present is.

You see, I got an email from my dad on May 10th. And in that email it said:

“i got your birthday present..
mom said i should wait til your birthday….
my thinking is, it’s here, it’s not like it will be a huge surprise…
there is a reason i went the route i did, which i’ll share after you see your present…..
anywho, if you want your present early it’s in the box in my closet…
but if you want to open something for your birthday, then stay out of my closet..lol”

May 10th I received this email. Just over TWO WEEKS AGO!

And c’mon, you know my first obvious response: “PRESENTS?! LET’S GO! GO! GO!” I mean, he said I could open it now and I don’t really care about opening it early (I actually got my birthday presents from Dave last month) so why not?

Your Birthday Presents are in the Closet || Illustration by Asti @ atypicalnarrative

But I didn’t do it. I was tempted. I was honestly really so close to doing it. But I didn’t.

Why not? Well, if I’m honest, it’s mainly because of that second line: “mom said i should wait til your birthday.”

Oh mom. Way to ruin all the fun. 😉

You see, my mom likes things to be a certain way. Take my dad’s birthday, which happened last month. She decided to throw him a little party with just the immediate family and while we were waiting for everyone to arrive dad decided he wanted to open his presents. I let him open his from Dave and I because why not? It was his birthday! But mom told him he shouldn’t open any (and wasn’t allowed to open the one from her) because he needed to open them once everyone was there like a normal birthday party.

In other words, who cares what the birthday boy wants, it’s not the way things are supposed to be done!

Do I Open my Birthday Presents Early?! || Illustration by Asti @ atypicalnarrative

So I could have opened the closet and grabbed my presents over two weeks ago and it would’ve mostly been fine, but to save mom the grumbling I’ve decided to wait… and wait… and wait.

Until today.

So, without further ado, I am finally going into the closet to get my birthday present. Wish me luck!

(Sidenote: Wouldn’t it be hilarious if the closet was empty this entire time and my parents were just testing me? I don’t think that’s the case because I know my dad isn’t really bothered when I open it, but sometimes that’s an added layer to my indecisiveness: should I open it just to see if this was a trick?!)

Your turn! Has something like this ever happened to you? Would you have opened the closet prior to your big day, or would you have waited? And, if you are someone who opens presents early like me, do you find it ever bothers you on the big day with nothing actually happens? Let me know in the comments below (or at the very least wish me a happy birthday ;))!

Asti signature

Want more of my madness? Don’t forget you can follow me elsewhere:
Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || Pinterest ||  Newsletter
Or if you’re just interested in reading a similar post:
When Your Future Mother-in-Law Uses Your
Toothbrush to Clean the Birdcage

 

18 Comments

  1. I’m actually more terrified of something HAPPENING on my birthday because I don’t have a habit of celebrating it nor do I want to celebrate it. But presents are a-okay, and I’ll open them whenever I’ve received it and the giver has gone away, unless the giver wants me to open it right away, lol. 😛

    • That’s interesting about not wanting to celebrate it. Hopefully those who like you are aware of it so won’t ever make it uncomfortable for you! But yes to presents. I do always find the timing of opening presents sometimes weird because some people want you to open them right away but others don’t care. I generally have no patience though (except for the rare example above) so I’m all about opening it asap. 😝

  2. Hahaha, that was just cruel. But good on you for resisting!

    My family’s really weird about gifts and hiding them. We have this unspoken agreement to pretend that none of us are getting any presents. I have no idea when or how it started, but until the day (birthday, Christmas, whatever), there should be no signs of gift giving. xD I remember finding a present as a kid, I think in my mom’s drawer or something, and she actually took it back!

    • That’s interesting about your family’s unspoken agreement. I mean, I guess it’s nice to not have to go back and forth about it and sort of have it as a surprise in a way on the big day (though I’m sure you must still know they’re likely to appear), but to avoid talking about it altogether? Interesting!

      I, too, have found presents as a kid but luckily mine have never been returned. I remember this one birthday I found some presents in my parent’s room. My parents didn’t know I found them though and that night asked me what I wanted for my birthday so I ended up describing exactly what they got me/I found, because in my mind that was like the right thing to do, and then they realized I found them because why else would I be describing the exact gifts they got? haha. I still got them though.

      • Well, we DO talk about it a lot (we ask for suggestions, for example), but most of the talking is telling the other person that they’re not getting anything this year, since we can’t think of any ideas. I have no idea, Asti, it’s very weird. 😂

        Hahaha, that’s pretty funny. It was a nice thought, though!

  3. Hahahaha, I so understand how you feel! If someone mentions a present I just instantly go “gimme gimme gimme”. My sister actually starts two months before my birthday by telling me how nice her present is and that if I want to receive it I’ll better not go looking for it… CRUEL!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Asti!

    • Your sister is so cruel! At least if someone tells me about my birthday presents in advance they tell me I can have them. I don’t think I’ve ever had anyone torture me with the knowledge of a gift but refused to let me have it until my birthday. There’s no way I would be able to hold back from searching for it then… even if it’s just out of spite, haha!

  4. That is the best thing I ever heard of. I find it soo cute what your dad did for you. I wish somebody would do this for me<3. Your mother is very cute trying to do everything by the book. I guess she just wants to please everybody and everything to be perfect.

    But was there something in the closet? What did you receive. I am curious ❤

    • Haha, yes, there was something in the closet – though since my mom likes to do things by the book they actually ended up wrapping my presents and leaving them out for me so I didn’t have to go rummaging in the closet to find out what it was. And what was it? Art supplies! I’m not sure if you could tell, but I really love incorporating art into my blog (it’s not obvious at all, is it? haha) so they got me the markers and pens I asked for. I love the bright colors of the pens I use in most of my illustrations on here, but I’m excited to add more color soon!

      I hope you find someone who does something so nice for you too! Everyone deserves such sweet gestures. 🙂

  5. NOOO, I DIDN’T COMMENT ON HERE!!! Happy birthday, sweet Asti. Hope you have a badass year ahead. ❤

    • Thanks Dina! You get a gold star because you’ve wished me a happy birthday on more than one platform. You’re the best 😉

  6. Ahh, this is ridiculously late, but I’m wishing you the most beautiful of (belated) birthdays, dear Asti! I have to admit I’m with your mom on this one — it could be the OCD side of me, but it is very important to me that things are In Their Correct Order & Position Always. My parents always like to tell the story of when I was around four or five & went through a phase where I cast judgements on everything in my path, calling them either “properly” or “not properly” (e.g. “the remote control is lying straight, so it is properly; Asti opening her presents before her birthday is NOT PROPERLY AT ALL”). 😉 I hope you had an incredible birthday filled with cake & love & many presents, my friend! xox

    • Late is better than never! I still appreciate it.
      Oh yes, I knew all about your properly thing. That’s the very reason I waited until my birthday to open my presents, just so you wouldn’t label me as not. 😉
      And thanks Topaz! I had a lovely day, but with cake instead of brownies because I’m that weird friend who doesn’t like cake. 😇

  7. It sounds like your birthday was a really fun day! Haha that’s so funny that your dad emailed you to tell you. It must have been so hard to resist! I usually wait until my birthday because I love opening things on my birthday, I don’t really get birthday presents since I live half way across the world so if I DO get a gift I wait so I have something to open. At least the day finally arrived so you could open it!

    • It was hard at first because I’m like my dad – I don’t REALLY care about opening presents on my birthday so the only thing holding me back was knowing my mom would prefer me to and determining whether or not that was worth it was a little difficult for me, haha. It did make my birthday feel a little more special on the day though, so I think it was ultimately the right decision.

      And I get you on the living halfway across the world thing! I’m sure once I move back to London it’ll be a similar experience – unlikely getting anything at all! (Though the love is still there, of course.)

Leave a Reply

