Fantastic Beasts, boys, and magic… It doesn’t take much to win me over. // My thoughts on the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie.

Fantastic beasts, boys, and magic... it doesn't take much to win me over || My thoughts on the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them movie || Blog post and illustration by Asti @ atypicalnarrative

Hey, remember that Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie? I somewhat do. I mean, I really enjoyed it when I saw it in theaters and drew the image above thinking it’d be nice to talk about on the blog. But then I waited a couple of months to actually write the content of the post and forgot what I wanted to say and had to borrow the DVD from the library to refresh my mind.

I don’t know what that says about how good this film actually is, but hey, it doesn’t take much to please me as you’ll soon find out.

Fantastic Beasts

As this blog was originally titled atypicalmonster, I think it’s fair to say that I love monsters, beasts, and creatures of any kind. Anything fantastical that we don’t get in this world (or don’t have confirmation of), I love, love, love. This film sold me prior to seeing it because it had Fantastic Beasts in the title, and I’m happy to report that there were a few new creatures introduced in the film that we didn’t get to experience in the Harry Potter world before.

I think the Niffler, the long-snouted creature attracted to shiny things, is the favorite of most viewers of this film, but I actually loved Pickett the most. Pickett is a Bowtruckle (or green little plant dude) that Newt carries around with him and I couldn’t help but fall for his sweet and sensitive demeanor. There’s a scene in which it looks like something might happen to him and ah, my heart. I want a little Bowtruckle to carry around in my pocket.

And let’s not forget the Erumpent, the rhinoceros looking beast. I don’t know much about it other than it was horny in this particular film, but I have to wonder if I’m part-Erumpent because that mating dance Newt performed for it won me over too. (Haha.)

Seriously though, fantastic beasts for the win. If nothing else I’ll watch all the sequels in hopes for more creatures being introduced.

Fantastic Boys

Yes, I’m really getting that shallow here. The inclusion of fantastic beasts wasn’t the only thing that sold me on this film before I saw it… Eddie Redmayne did too. 

I don’t know what it is but I LOVE Eddie Redmayne. I think the first film I saw of his was The Theory of Everything and even with him drooling and stumbling and all those things I couldn’t help but fall in love. Those cheekbones! That goofy demeanor! That smile! I AM NOT WORTHY!

But, I was actually surprised because as I watched the film I found myself captivated by another fantastic boy: Ezra Miller, the actor who played Credence. Not only did I think he did an amazing job playing Credence (because he really did, I was totally intrigued by the character), but he also has great cheekbones.

And then there was another actor who I used to be obsessed with who also had great cheekbones. I mean, just all the boys and all the cheekbones. That’s all this pathetic heart needs.

Oh, and the Wizarding World

Oh, and let’s not forget that this film is connected to the Harry Potter films and therefore has MAGIC! (Anyone who claims to not love magic is a liar and should be shunned. It automatically makes every story better.) The nice thing about Fantastic Beasts is that we get a lot of magic we’re used to from the Harry Potter films, but also get a little glimpse of how the magic world varies in different parts of the world. There’s different slang, government systems, rules. It’s all the same but not quite and while I know it wasn’t enough for some diehard fans, it was enough for this casual bum.

Brb, hiding in Newt Scamander's magical suitcase || Illustration by Asti @ bit.ly/atypicalnarrative

Yes, if I were in this magical wizarding world, I would definitely be the one sneaking into Newt Scamander’s suitcase. Fantastic beasts, boys, and magic for the win.

So there you have it! Those are my thoughts on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. As you can see, the story itself isn’t that remarkable. It’s actually a bit messy as it tries to focus both on the Obscurus situation along with Newt’s runaway beasts. And while some of the relationships formed in the story were quite lovely (Queenie and Jacob being by far the best), I can’t say I’ll be overly distraught if they aren’t carried over into the sequels. No, the film was great for me purely for what I knew was coming thanks to the trailers: beasts, boys, and magic. If that makes me a bad film person, I apologize. But hey, everything is a bit more enjoyable when you take it less seriously.

Have you seen Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them? If so, what were your thoughts? Were you sold prior to seeing it like I was? Or did you have high expectations that weren’t quite met? And for those who haven’t seen it, do you think you ever will? 

Asti signature

Want more of my madness? Don’t forget you can follow me elsewhere:
TwitterFacebook | Instagram | YoutubePinterest | Newsletter
Or, if you’re interested in another movie-related post:
The trees are alive! My favorite trees in fiction.

18 Comments

  1. Astiiiiii! Love this post! I also love Pickett! So adorable! Poor little thing has attachment issues. How does the Niffler store everything? He’s like Mary Poppins’ bag lol. It’s magic! Obviously. Lol. Also love the Thunderbird–there’s something quite majestic about him.

    I get the Eddie Redmayne thing. Not so much the Ezra thing.

    I would DEFINITELY hide in Newts’ suitcase. I want one!

    • Yes, same! Even if it Newt didn’t look like Eddie Redmayne, I’d want his suitcase because all of those creatures are so beautiful and fun. I mean, I’m sure there must be SOME that are quite gross or mean, but from what I saw of the fantastic creatures I’m totally sold.

      And Johnny’s blonde hair? Well, erm, it was interesting. I find I don’t love him nearly as much as I did as a teen, but we’ll see how it goes. We didn’t really get to see much of him in the first one so I’m curious how his character plays out once the next one’s released.

  2. I love this post, and I loved Fantastic Beasts! There was something so ‘me’ about Eddie Redmayne running around New York trying to catch fantastical creatures. Pickett was my fave too – so CUTE!

    • Haha, agreed! The sort of misfit, clumsy look work wells on Eddie Redmayne. (whether he likes it or not :P).

  3. “I mean, just all the boys and all the cheekbones. ” YES YES YES

    I loved Niffler and I loved the relationship between Pickket and Newt. So adorable and coupley!

    I love your illustrations especially of Newt in the suitcase! 😍

    • Aw, thanks Asiya! And that was ME in the suitcase, not Newt! Unless you meant Newt and the suitcase, haha. In my mind that is exactly what would happen if this all were real and I knew about it. I would wait until Newt isn’t looking and then sneak into his suitcase to hang out with all his fantastical creatures (until one ate my arm or something, then I’d probably come rushing out screaming and crying, haha).

  4. I think Eddie Redmayne has that affect on a few ladies! There is something strangely charming about him. Have you seen Les Mis? I enjoy his singing in that. I mean, I know he’s not going to win a Grammy or anything, but it hits you in the feels!

    • I have seen Les Mis once, prior to really being aware of him, and yes, I agree. I remember finding something striking about him and his voice then but forgetting completely about him until I watched The Theory of Everything. Now I just can’t seem to not notice him. I really want to see The Danish Girl, both because he’s in it and it sounds like an interesting movie, I’m surprised I haven’t already. (And I’m sure I’ll be charmed by him even dressed as a woman!)

  5. I absolutely adore the illustration. It looks so brilliant! 😀

    Ezra Miller was so good in the film. I usually have an interest in the darker characters who have much more complicated stories. 😀 I did love Eddie as well. He was really awkward and it was perfect.

    Loved reading your recap and again, the illustration is awesome. 😀

    • Thanks Kya!

      I agree, dark characters with complicated stories are soooooo good. I actually sort of hope we get to see more of Ezra somehow in the sequels. I don’t know how likely it is, but there was something there. If not, I’m sure we’ll find other dark characters with complicated stories to pay attention to (or so I hope)!

  6. Your drawing is so adorable!

    Pickett was my favorite, too! Followed by the one that changed sizes, that the couldn’t find. Whatever it was called, lol.

    I have to admit, I have mixed feelings about the movie. I LOVED the scenery and all of the magical creatures. They more than met my expectations. But I didn’t connect to the characters are all for some reason. They felt very caricatured to me. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next, though!

    • Thanks Maraia!

      What, the Niffler wasn’t one of your top favs? I feel like he gets most of the love. I’m not going to lie, part of me is always going to love that rhino thing just for forcing Eddie to do a mating dance with it, haha. So nonsensical but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

      That’s fair enough about the characters, though I’m sad to hear it! I do feel like there wasn’t a whole lot of development that went on with them. Hopefully they’ll get a bit more fleshed out with the sequels so you can enjoy it more – especially if the scenery and magical creatures is somewhat the same.

      • Oh, he was certainly cute, I just thought there were others that were even cuter and more interesting, haha.

        I’m actually still confused about the upcoming movies and who’s actually going to be in them.

      • Same, I feel like I’ve heard different things. I would at least assume the next one will include Newt at least because it’d be weird in my mind to automatically snap to someone else, but who knows. Guess we’ll find out when they come out?

Leave a Reply

