Oh fishman, you blow my mind // The fishy cheerleader I couldn’t take my eyes off of.

Oh fishman, you blow my mind! || The fishy cheerleader I couldn't take my eyes off of. || Blog post and illustration by Asti @ atypicalnarrative

Okay, so you know how sometimes if you see something you just can’t unsee it? Right?
And you also know how sometimes, when you’re at an event that you’re not totally into, your mind can find its own ways to entertain itself?

Well, at a local college basketball game earlier this winter, I totally lost myself in the gaping face hole of a male cheerleader. This guy, when he would go to lift the girl up or catch her as she came down, would open his mouth so wide you’d think he was secretly a Kirby with hopes to inhale that poor girl and absorb her cheerleading powers. He did this every single time there was a lift. And it absolutely KILLED me.

You could tell he was oblivious to this element of his cheerleading practice. (Or, if he was aware of it, he had absolutely no control over it.) But it was the greatest thing on earth. I even have a video of it because I just couldn’t let it go, but I’m not going to post it here because I feel like that’d be a tad bit cruel of me. Instead, you’ll just have to enjoy the illustration I drew based on the event above. (Oh how inspiration comes from the most random of places.)

That being said, it really makes me wonder what faces I pull when I’m concentrating that I don’t know about. Please, if you ever notice me gasping for air like a fish or flailing about while I’m trying to do something, let me know. I may not actually stop doing it because sometimes you concentrate so hard you have no control over such things, but at least then I’d know why everyone was laughing at me. (And, if it were something like this, it’d definitely be a laughing WITH me type of thing. Making fun of myself is one of my favorite things to do.)

Okay, is this one of those “you had to be there” things to truly appreciate? Probably, but let me know what you think anyways! Have you ever caught yourself making an outrageous face while concentrating? (I know a lot of girls tend to do this with eye make-up all the time.) Or have you ever found something at an event that you couldn’t stop laughing at even though it wasn’t actually part of the show? Give me all the juice, I’m waiting!

Asti signature

Want more of my madness? Don’t forget you can follow me elsewhere:
TwitterFacebook | Instagram | YoutubePinterest | Newsletter
Or, if you’re interested in another life-related post:
When your future mother-in-law uses your toothbrush to clean the bird cage.

 

17 Comments

  1. Hahahah. This made me laugh. I don’t know if I make any faces when I concentrate, either. But, I remember once pouting while in class, and I had no awareness of this, and then the professor was like, “What is WRONG?” And I was like, “Who, me? What?”

    • Haha, well at least the professor cared enough about your pouting to ask what was wrong? That could always be bad if they take it personally though. We can’t always be in control of what our faces are doing!

  2. I love this, oh my goodness! I know that whenever I read in public I get the most involuntary frustrated, furrowed-brow look on my face, no matter whether I’m reading a harrowing mystery or a breezy summer chick lit – I’ve been told it makes me look quite terrifying, especially around people who do not know that I am in fact a small non-threatening bean 😳

    • Hey, you know the best part about that? It should mean you very rarely get interrupted while reading because people are too afraid to talk to you with your frustrated, furrowed-brow look! Perfect reading defense mechanism right there! 😉

  3. This story is absolutely hilarious! I am always told that when I think of something or try to concentrate I look sad and like I am about to cry, which really amuses me, because that’s usually never the case at all! But basically, in all the group pictures, I always look like I absolutely hate everyone and that I’d much rather be somewhere else hahaha

    https://pineapple-jam.com

    • Oh no! I’d be afraid to ever ask you a question if you looked like you were about to cry when trying to think of your response, haha. At least knowing about it you can assure people to not worry. The worst is if you do these things but no one ever points it out to you so you go your whole life making people think you hate them and are on the verge of tears when thinking. 😝

  4. This is hilarious! Now that you mention it, I bet I have odd expressions on my face when I’m concentrating.

    Also, you must get someone to take pictures of you when you’re focused on something so we get to see illustrated Asti at work. XD

    • Haha, Topaz mentioned in a previous post that I should do like a process video of my art. I wonder if some sort of concentration-face will appear if I decide to do it? (And what that concentration face will look like?) I don’t know of any face that I pull off the top of my head, but I guess when you’re concentrating you’re too busy to notice so surely there must be some silly faces going on? I’m so curious now. I’ll have to try it out sometime. (Of course, we’ll see how embarrassing said face is before I share it ;))

      • Hey, your fans love you no matter what your concentration face looks like (we’ll only laugh a little, we promise XD)

  5. Haha that illustration is so funny.

    I always wonder what faces I make when I’m concentrating really hard. Sometimes it’s interesting to watch other people going about their lives when you’re just sitting down having a coffee. I like people-watching and seeing how everyone else works lol (That’s not creepy right?)…

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    • No, not creepy at all! People-watching is one of my favorite hobbies, haha. Every person has a story and it can be to see how that is communicated in the way a person acts. It’s one of my favorite things to do when traveling especially (though obviously in a place like London it’s easy because everywhere you go there tends to be people to see).

      I think one of these days I’m going to put a camera on me while drawing and just see if I can forget it. That way, I can go back afterwards and see what kinds of faces I make. Though then again, maybe that’s not a good idea. I don’t want worrying about my concentration face to interrupt my fun! 😛

      • It’s so interesting watching people on the tube! Like also super awkward when they realise you’re staring at them (lol), but interesting nonetheless. I once tried to take a picture of a person reading a Juliet Marillier book on the tube (She’s my favourite author), and I totally got snapped out. It was awkward. I pretended I was looking in the camera and checking my make up instead lol.

        Haha you should do it for a small drawing and see what happens!

      • Oh no, I don’t think I’ve ever been caught trying to take a pic of someone before. Thatd definitely be harder to pull off than just staring at them. Hopefully you’re makeup checking was convincing 😉 (though hey, maybe if you would’ve told them it’s due to the book they were reading they wouldn’t mind!) I’ll have to let you know if I do the drawing/concentration video! I’ve had someone request a process video before so will likely pull out my DSLR to try recording sometime! (Whether it actually makes it to the internet is questionable though…)

      • Haha I totally would have told the person it was because of the book, had she not been standing so far away with a ton load of people squashed in between us. It would have been awkward to shout it out to her lol.

        Eek yes do! I feel like it’s an excuse to break out the DSLR 😀

Leave a Reply

