Welcome to atypicalnarrative

Welcome to atypicalnarrative: a (life + stories + art) blog || Welcome post and illustration by Asti @ atypicalnarrative

Well hello there! Welcome to atypicalnarrative, my (life + stories + art) blog. I’m excited to launch this personal creative endeavor with you and I hope after reading this little introduction you’ll be persuaded to stick around.

But wait, haven’t we seen you before?

Yes! Though this blog is brand new, I’ve been blogging for many, many years. Most recently, I made a home within the book blogging community at Oh, the Books!, a joint effort with one of my favorite friends who is still kicking ass and taking names. (I definitely recommend you stop over and say hi!)

While I loved my time blogging at Oh, the Books! with Kelley, I ultimately caved into my own spiral of self-destruction as I failed to meet the high blogging standards I had set for myself. While I originally planned on taking a hiatus and returning to Kelley’s side, I decided after careful consideration a fresh start was necessary. (Luckily for me, Kelley didn’t take this personally. She’s the best.)

So, how will atypicalnarrative be different?

atypicalnarrative is a (life + stories + art) blog. Its primary aim is to be a personal creative outlet that celebrates stories, whether that be those told through books, tv, movies, etc. or the one that is currently being lived each day by yours truly. In other words, it’s a combination of a lifestyle, books/tv/movies, and art blog.

To break down what to expect from each category even further:

  • Life posts will primarily consist of personal stories and observations. It’s not a lifestyle section in which I aim to teach you anything about how to live your life (because believe me, I’m barely surviving my own), but a place where I can poke fun at myself and record snapshots of what chaos is going on in my mind at any given time.
  • Stories posts are going to be all about stories I love. I’m not looking to do any critical reviews or talk about things I don’t like because homie don’t have time for that. Instead, I’m going to highlight the things I love in the books, movies, and tv shows I’m consuming in hopes of finding others to fangirl with me. (Please?)
  • Art posts will contain my collections of doodles and illustrations that I complete (and don’t use for a different blog post). At some point this category may expand to highlight other artists or share my thoughts on creating, but for now just expect doodles.

Alright, I’m sold! When should I be here?

If you like what you’re seeing and want to stick around, I love you long time. Posts will be going live twice a week on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 6am EST. There will also be a mostly bi-weekly newsletter sent out on Saturdays. (For those curious, the newsletter will be my updated version of the weekly recaps we did at Oh, the Books! with links to lifestyle, books/tv/movies, and art posts I think you should check out.) Click on the arrow (^) at bottom right of this page to find my blog following options or stalk me on social media by using the social media buttons.

Whether you choose to stick around or not, thank you for stopping by my humble online home and giving me a chance. I’m not anything truly special but I love to blog so fuck it, why not?

Asti signature

Have any questions about my new blog? Excited or terrified? Any requests for content you want to see within the focuses I have provided? I want to know it all! Leave a comment below and I’ll be sure to respond. I promise I don’t bite (not on the first post, anyways.)

29 Comments

  1. YAY! The day we’ve been waiting for has arrived! 😀 Can’t wait to see what you’ve got in store. And I’m glad Kelley’s supportive of you (didn’t expect it otherwise, haha) and that you’ve come to a point that you’re blogging on your own terms ❤

    • Haha, believe me, the first actual post on Thursday will be me putting it all out there in my usual cringe-y fashion. I figured it’ll either scare everyone away or they’ll join in with my crazy, but either way I’m having fun!

      (And thanks for being one of my inspirations for finally getting this going. Made of Mint was the extra little push I needed! 🖤)

  2. Woohoo! I’m excited for this. (I hope it shows up in Feedly, because so far it hasn’t…) You know I always enjoy what you write, however random, so I’ll be here for whatever it is. 🙂 (I did really enjoy the Bright Side posts. Not sure if you plan to continue those or not.)

    • I’m thinking this specific post might not have showed up in Feedly because I had originally published it as a password protected post to get feedback from one my blogging buddies before publishing it fully today. If I check Feedly the password protected post comes up but not this one, so maybe since it was already published it won’t show up again? Hopefully it sorts itself out with Thursdays post since that one hasn’t been published yet!

      There will DEFINITELY be a lot of randomness on this blog, but I’d like to think they’ll make sense. And yes and no to The Bright Side posts. I’m really trying to switch gears from Oh, Asti because I felt like I was giving too much power to my depression on that blog. While I think writing about my mental struggles can be relieving in a way, allowing it to absorb my thoughts so much sort of resulted in me constantly thinking about how unhappy. I mean, I know I would have my good moments, but something about it all kept bringing me back down.

      With this one, I’m totally predominantly focusing on the good. My life posts will be experiences and thoughts that make me laugh or that I like, and all the stories/movies/tv shows I talk about will be those I love. I’m striving for a creative and positive environment here, my Bright Side all the time! (I mean, not that my usual snark won’t come out. I’m still going to be me, haha.)

      So yeah, I hope that all makes sense. If not, I’m pretty sure Thursday’s post will be a clear indicator of the crazy that is to come, haha.

      • Yeah, I saw the protected post. But fortunately this one was there when I woke up this morning. 🙂

        Woohoo, I’m looking forward to it. What you said makes a lot of sense, and I’m glad you’ll be sharing with us the things that make you happy. Plus snark. I’m always here for snark, haha.

    • Thanks Jeann! It’s been lovely reconnecting with all my old blogging friends again, and I’m glad to still receive the support even though it’s a slightly different adventure! ❤

  3. OK, Asti, get ready… I’m about to get a little mushy (might be the cold medicine I’m on lol). Reading this post made me feel… Proud? In awe? I think that’s it. I feel like a proud mum LOL. You are so incredibly talented and when depression knocks you down you always find a way to fight back. You don’t let it keep you down. You love to blog and you don’t let depression take that away from you. Plus, I envy your artistic abilities! I’m so rusty! OK, I can only handle so much mushiness ⬅ is that a word? Haha. Anyways… Glad you’re back to what you love! 😊

    • Don’t try to get mushy on me! That’ll make ME get emotional and I must always fight the illusion of having a heart. (Because I don’t have one. Duh.)

      I do appreciate it though. It’s definitely been an up-and-down battle over these past few years, but I’m finally feeling like I’m in a place of positive and am definitely embracing it. All those inappropriate comments and craziness that you get to see in person, expect nothing less here. I’m just letting it all go and for once I’m mainly focusing on having fun. (Just wait until Thursday’s post, haha.)

      Anyways, lots of love from my little black heart. Be careful you don’t take too much cold medicine. (Who knows what you’d be saying next :P)

      • Come on, Asti, we know you have a heart. Somewhere. Deep down. 😜

        Oh, man. Watch out internet, you never know what Asti’s going to say. 😉 Look forward to it!

  4. I’m a terrible blog reader but YAY for your new initiativeI ❤ So happy for you that you're setting your own rules because even though I don't blog, it should never have to feel like a chore. Excited to see what's to come ❤

    P.S. Absolutely adore your header illustration

    • Haha, don’t worry. I’ve been a terrible blog reader for YEARS now. The only reason I’m going to be good at it now is because I’m trying to get myself back into things. XP (I’m happy just having you around on Twitter, even if I don’t know what you’re fangirling about 90% of the time. <3)

      And thanks! I originally considered the blog name atypicalmonster but decided it was a bit more juvenile sounding than I wanted, but chose to keep the image because I loved it so much. Glad you do too 🙂

      • XD At least you found that motivation! I’m just too lazy 😛 And thanks for still following me, I feel like I have to tell my friends to mute me, cos I’m constantly spamming dramas on twitter, heh.

        Yaaas, I really love the new blog name too. It just fits really well :3 and that illustration, so glad you went ahead with it!

  5. Oh congrats on your new blog, Asti!! I think it’s awesome to start a new project, and I hope this is a really creative and relaxing place for you to write. ❤ I look forward to reading aaaaall the things!

    • Thanks Cait! I’m definitely feeling inspired with this new outlet, so am hoping to stick around for much longer this time. I’m amazed by those of you who are still rocking it after all these years. You better be giving yourself a pat on the back 😉

  6. So glad to see that you’re back! I loved your book blog and am really excited to see what direction this new one goes in. (Also, your doodles are adorable!)

    • Thanks Holly! There will definitely still be some bookish content that pops up here and there, but no where near as much as before. Still a lot of the same crazy me though so hopefully people don’t mind too much. Glad to see you’re still around, though! It’s exciting to see familiar faces after a year or so away. 🙂

  7. Asti, good to have you back in the blogging world! I am very happy to see you out and blogging again, and doing it the way you want it too! I love the design of the blog btw, and I hope that this becomes a perfect new home for you on the internet!

    looking forward to reading all that you’ve got to offer!

    • It definitely feels good to be back and I’m more inspired than ever! I can’t imagine this blog will be as popular as the past as it’s quite personal and weird in it’s own little way, but I don’t mind. There’s something super satisfying about just moving to the beat of your own drum!

      Thanks for stopping by Stefanie! 🙂

  8. Eee welcome back Asti! I’m so excited your back and blogging 😀 atypicalnarrative sounds like it will be a really interesting blog. I’m really excited to see what content you will be posting. I love that you can draw, did you draw your banner for this blog? It’s so cool and creative, I’m looking forward to seeing more!

    I’m happy to see you around here again! We must stay in contact this time ha.

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    • I did draw my banner for this blog, yes! I originally was going for the name “atypicalmonster”, hence the horns and spots on the characters in the header, but decided I still wanted to use it after settling on the name “atypicalnarrative” instead. I’m glad everyone is liking it so far. 🙂

      And yes, I have your blog bookmarked so expect to see me around.

  9. Ahh!! It’s so wonderful to see you blogging again, dear Asti, & I truly cannot wait to see where this gorgeous endeavour takes you. I’ll add onto the chorus saying your header illustration is beautiful, & I’m so looking forward to seeing more art from you! Sending infinite love & support your way. xox

    • Aw, thanks Topaz! It’s definitely nice to be back in this amazing community, even if I’m not solely focused on books anymore. Thanks for being so lovely. 🖤x

Leave a Reply

